Professor Maggie Gill OBE, FRSE

SSAC Chair

Professor Maggie Gill, OBE, FRSE is an emeritus Professor in the School of Biology, University of Aberdeen. From 2014 to 2019 Maggie was Chair of the Independent Science and Partnership Council of the CGIAR (a consortium of international agricultural research centres).  She currently chairs an EU Think Tank for the project Fit4Food 2030 and the Science Advisory Panel of the...

Current Member
Professor Julie Fitzpatrick Professor Julie Fitzpatrick OBE

Ex-Officio Member

Julie Fitzpatrick was appointed Chief Scientific Adviser (CSA) for Scotland in June 2021.


This is a part-time position within the Scottish Government.  Julie also remains Scientific Director of Moredun Research Institute and CEO of The Moredun Foundation.  She also holds a Chair in Food Security at the University of Glasgow’s College of...

Professor David Crossman

Ex-Officio Member

Professor David Crossman was appointed Chief Scientist, Health, on 1 November 2017.

This is a part-time position within the Scottish Government. Professor Crossman remains Dean of Medicine and Head of School at St Andrews. Professor Crossman succeeds Professor Andrew Morris, who stood down from the Chief Scientist role in July.


Mathew Williams

Ex-Officio Member

Professor Mathew Williams was appointed Chief Scientific Adviser (CSA) Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture in January 2021.

This is a part-time position (3 days a week) and Professor Williams retains an academic position at the University of Edinburgh. Professor Williams succeeds Professor Andrew Millar.


Dr Caroline Cantley

Dr Caroline Cantley's career spans both industry and academia, focused on engineering, technology-based business and research. Her current role, as Executive Director of the Scottish Research Partnership in Engineering (SRPe), involves providing leadership and strategic direction to the creation of critical mass in engineering in Scotland to help attract investment, leading researchers,...

Professor Dame Anna Dominiczak, DBE, FRSE

Professor Dame Anna Dominiczak is Regius Professor of Medicine, Vice Principal and Head of the College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences at the University of Glasgow, as well as an honorary consultant physician and a non-executive member of NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde Health Board. She is one of the world’s leading cardiovascular scientists and clinical academics, awarded a DBE for...

Professor Mark Inall

Professor Mark Inall is a physical oceanographer and director of the Scottish Alliance for Geoscience Environment and Society (SAGES), which brings together world-leading expertise in geoscience and environmental science from across Scotland’s research base, to create a multi-disciplinary alliance at the forefront of earth and environmental research.


He is an advocate of inter...

Professor Wayne Powell

Professor Wayne Powell is Principal and Chief Executive of Scotland’s Rural College (SRUC). He has shown a lifelong commitment to the application of cutting edge science to deliver practical benefits for agriculture and the rural economies of the developed and developing world.


His personal research interests are at the interface of plant genetics, genome science, plant...

Professor John Underhill FRSE

Professor John Underhill is Chief Scientist at Heriot-Watt University, a leadership and advocacy role informing the strategic direction of the university.  He also holds the position of Chair of Exploration Geoscience and is the Academic Director of the Natural Environmental Research Council (NERC) Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) in Oil and Gas. 

He studied Geology at Bristol...

Professor Aziz Sheikh OBE, FRSE

Aziz is Professor of Primary Care Research & Development and Director of the Usher Institute at The University of Edinburgh.  He is Honorary Consultant in Paediatric Allergy at the Royal Hospital for Sick Children, NHS Lothian, Director of the 16-university Asthma UK Centre for Applied Research, Director of the NIHR Global Respiratory Health Unit (RESPIRE), Director of the Scottish Allergy...

Professor E Marian Scott OBE, FRSE


Marian is Professor of Environmental Statistics in the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Glasgow; an elected member of the International Statistical Institute (ISI), a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) and a chartered statistician of the Royal Statistical Society (RSS).  She is a member of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC), a member of...

Professor Bob Ferrier


Prof Bob Ferrier is Director of the Centre of Expertise for Waters (CREW), at the Hydro Nation International Centre, James Hutton Institute. CREW delivers at the policy: research interface, which involves co-construction of knowledge involving all of Scotland’s Universities and Research Institutes and the water stakeholder community of policy, industry and practitioners. He has over...

Professor Robert Bowman


Professor Robert Bowman holds a Seagate Technology / Royal Academy of Engineering Research Chair in Advanced Materials for Data Storage at Queen’s University Belfast.   A native of the Isle of Mull, he obtained his BSc degree in Physics from, the then, Paisley College of Technology and his PhD from the University of Strathclyde and undertook postdoctoral work there until he joined ...

Professor Julian D C Jones OBE, FRSE


Professor Jones is Vice-Principal and Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Heriot-Watt University, where his responsibilities including leading Planning and Finance strategies for the university.  As a physicist, Julian’s research interests span the physics and technology of lasers, fibre optics and their applications, including in sensing, manufacturing and communications.



Past Member
SSAC Past Members




The following is a list of previous members and their institutions/positions at the time of appointment. The SSAC does not hold records of members’ professional roles after they left the SSAC.


Any corrections to the information below can be emailed to